From Archenemy to BFF

In response to this daily prompt 

I could philosophise about if we should have just one or several best friends and what defines a best friend, but I prefer telling you a story about how my archenemy became my best friend.

I first met S. in 2007 when I worked at American Express in the disputes department. She was on the merchant side, I on the other hand supported the buyers, so in a way we were meant to work against each other. S. left her position a little while later and – unknowingly – I got her exact old job when I applied for a role in that department. It quickly bothered me that she was around all the time chatting to her old colleagues long after she had left. She also worked overtime on our cases in light speed, meaning my normally considered awesome 110% productivity looked mediocre at best compared to her 280%. We talked bad about each other behind our backs and when I moved departments 10 months later I had pretty much forgotten her.

She obviously hadn’t (and I’m so grateful) because I was confused to see a friendship request from her on Facebook a few years later. I was living in London at the time and S. had moved to Frankfurt. About a year later, in October 2011, I was in Frankfurt for a job interview and arranged a meet up with her, simply because she was the only person my age I knew who lived there.

We got extremely drunk, talked about everything under the sun and realised we were made for each other. We grew even closer after I had left the UK and moved over permanently. Unfortunately Germany was giving both of us a very hard time though, I often felt depressed and without her I would have not survived those 7 months over there. No one else could understand my pain because we pretty much share the same background.

She is the kind of friend that would do anything for you – with anything I really mean anything: Lending large amounts of money to a notoriously skint person with huge debts, caring for my sick guinea pig and when it died storing it in her freezer for 3 months until I could catch a flight from Dublin to bury it and listening to hours and hours of ranting about boring jobs, unfulfilled love and sexual encounters that have gone horribly wrong (thankfully due to my amazing boyfriend the latter two will never happen again). When we’re together most people don’t understand our jokes or even language, it’s like we’re in our own little world.

I’m pleased to say that both of us are now in countries that we love, with people we love – even though we are apart from each other we connect every day, in many different ways. I’m glad I found my ‘archenemy’ 7 years ago.

M

