How Thailand changed my view of sunsets

In the midst of my dozens of job interviews and all the stress that comes with job hunting I completely missed this wonderful Daily Prompt:

New Dawn

How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise? Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).

I love dawn. A new day, new beginnings. It’s like a fresh start, a chance to do things better than the day before. It also brings a wonderful phenomenon: sunrise.

I’ve always been a sucker for sunsets but during our Thailand travels in May and June this year I did not see a single nice one over a period of five weeks! It was always cloudy in the afternoon or we didn’t have a good view. Suffering from severe jetlag and being wide awake from 2.30am for the first two weeks I decided to focus on sunrises instead.

Dawn is a magical time, the world has yet to wake up and it’s this peace and silence I love. My most beautiful and unforgettable sunrise was on Haad Rin Nok Beach in Koh Phangan, Thailand.

Haad Rin Nok, also called Sunrise Beach, is famous for hosting its notorious Full Moon Party once a month. We actually came to the island for the sole purpose of experiencing this madness just once in our life, but ended up leaving two days before the event because we didn’t enjoy the arrival of hordes of drunk teenagers after having spent ten blissful and relaxing days on this otherwise tranquil island.

These three stunning photos (completely unedited!) were taken after our first night. I couldn’t sleep again and stepped out onto the balcony. At first I was paralysed. I had never seen something so breathtaking. Then I quickly grabbed my camera, ran out of the hotel at around 6am and towards the beach. It was completely empty and I just stood there with my mouth open, amazed, and looked at the sky which was filled with vivid colours of yellow, orange, pink and purple, reflecting on the smooth surface of the water.

Sneak peak from our balcony

Sneak peak from our balcony

new dawn 1

And now from the beach

new dawn 2

It’s amazing how the colours can change when pointing the camera slightly more to the right

Writing this post filled me both with happiness and sadness. I miss Thailand so much, it was the happiest time of my life so far.

Where was your most beautiful sunrise?

signature

