Home is where the heart is

Home is elusive. When we think about this word, we might picture different physical locations. And while home is often found on a map, it can also be less tangible: a loved one, a state of mind.

For those of you who don’t know yet: I have decided to finally join a Blogging U. and chose mine to be Photography 101. I love taking photos, they capture moments, feelings and opinions. Every day a new assignment will be posted and I am going to interpret the theme by using old photos and shooting new ones. It’s not just about learning to take better pictures – I also want to improve my photo editing skills!

Our first assignment of Photography 101 asks us to show an image of what “home” means to us.

Now, one image is not nearly enough in my case. I consider myself lucky to have lived in three different countries and six different cities over the last 12 years. Living this sort of lifestyle comes with a price though: I had to completely redefine what “home” means to me.

 

Is it where I grew up? In the beautiful Baroque and Renaissance city of Dresden?

IMG_6864Is it the first city abroad that I moved to? Chic and Bohemian Brighton?

IMG_6410The place where I grew up too quickly, the capital that never sleeps: London?

JD502104Back to the roots: City of bankers and skyscrapers – nickname “Mainhattan”?

IMG_2593Or my current city, Dublin, in stunning Ireland where the grass really is greener?

P1080057

 

I think the answer is: ALL of these places have been my home at some stage in my life. It was often hard leaving a place behind and, I admit, it was toughest to let go of Brighton. It’s probably the place I miss the most. However Dublin has really grown on me. It’s where I live, work, breathe, eat, drink, smile, cry and most important of all: love.

We can feel home anywhere, because in the end it is what it is: a feeling of intimacy and familiarity. My partner gives me these feelings. So wherever I go, as long as I have him I will always feel home ❤

How do you interpret home? Is it an actual city, perhaps a country or your family/partner/friends?

signature

