Dublin’s iconic landmark: The Spire

Landmarks are everywhere: iconic places, meeting points, markers on a map. Today, consider a unique point of view as you photograph a landmark.

Guys, I have to cheat again today and use old photographs for this assignment. But I hope I can be forgiven since it is lashing rain outside. Just the typical Irish weather really ūüôā

Most people associate Dublin with these things: Guinness, Temple Bar,Christ Church and the colourful doors of Georgian Dublin. For me, it’s the Spire.

You cannot miss this iconic landmark because it towers over the city and you can see it from pretty much anywhere. Its top even glows at night and becomes a¬†beacon across the city. The Spire of Dublin has many names, from the elegant¬†Monument of Light, to the more funny nicknames such as “Stiffy by the Liffey” or “Erection at the intersection“. Located directly on O’Connell Street, this¬†stainless steel construction is an impressive¬†121.2 metres (398¬†ft) high. The cone has a diameter of 3m at its base and only¬†15cm at the top. When it’s sunny the Spire reflects the light and it looks stunning. It’s also a popular meeting point in the city, you’ll always see people hanging out there.

I think the Spire is what made me fall in love with Dublin instantly. It’s the first sight I saw when I got off the airport bus in the city centre and it’s an unusual design; an image of a modern Dublin.

 

P1080056

What do you think of the Spire? Modern art or an eyesore?

signature

