Birthday, BFF and an anniversary

Apologies for having neglected the blogging world for a while! My life is just one big rollercoaster at the moment and sometimes the downs that inevitably follow the ups are just too much.

Ever since I got back to Ireland at the end of June I have been on a job hunt. And for those who are currently employed let me tell you how frustrating it is to sift through endless job posts on Monster, Indeed, etc., dealing with recruiters so bad that you’d rather want to poke your eyes out than listening to any more of their bullshit and, most importantly, the many times you put hours and hours into interview preparation, getting all hyped up and picturing yourself at that company – just to be told again and again and again that they “chose someone else with more suitable skills and experience”.

That's how I felt in most of my interviews! Image Credit:  Examiner

That’s how I felt in most of my interviews. Image Credit: Examiner

I cannot count how many times I have had my hopes up after a few great interview rounds only for them to be crushed right at the end and each time it is getting more difficult to pick myself up and continue with a big smile on my face. Finding a job is so hard, especially if you’re picky like me.

After another week of lows I was so happy to hear that my BFF was coming over to Dublin for a weekend to celebrate her birthday! We celebrated at my place since we’re all a bit skint at the moment and I surprised her with some yummy baked goods πŸ™‚

I haven’t made cupcakes in ages and I really enjoyed baking again. They were very popular, even my boyfriend who doesn’t like sugary things had three! You can never go wrong with lemon. The recipe was good and easy to use but next time I’ll use more lemon forΒ the batter, because I like it super zesty. Here are two more pictures of the baking process:

The dough ready to be baked

The dough ready to be baked…

cupcakes 2

…turning gold when done πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was great seeing my best friend again and we just talked for hours and hours and drank lots of prosecco so by about 7pm we were already drunk. Later we all made pizza from scratch and more alcohol was consumed. We continued up until about 4am so the next day was definitely a write off for me (being old and all that).

bff

I have no idea why she was wearing these bunny ears. Or why we are sitting on the floor!

The rest of the weekend was pretty much uneventful, just the usual stuff like sending out applications, preparing for interviews, etc. Yesterday was a very special day for myΒ boyfriend and I. It was our 2 year anniversary! I can’t believe time has gone so quick. We’re still so very much in love, actually, even more than two years ago. We even talked about marriage for the first time πŸ˜€ And I’m so glad that we both agree on what our stag/hen do and wedding should be like. That’s always a good start! So, now there’s the waiting game of when he’s going to pop the question πŸ˜‰

I love him so much

I love him so much

Despite the happy occasion I felt a bit sad on that day because I wanted us to spend the day somewhere special or go for a romantic dinner somewhere. But we just don’t have that money at the moment. I can’t wait to start a new job and have date nights in Dublin again!

And on this note, I’ll end my post to – guess what – prepare for more interviews!! There’s always a light at the end of eachΒ tunnel…

signature

