The Christmas Tag – A bit of fun!

Less than a week until Christmas and only about 2 weeks until the new year starts – yikes! Where has time gone so fast? I’m still sorting through hundreds of photos from my last trip to Germany, so these posts will have a to wait a few more days. In the meantime I am taking part in this little fun Christmas Tag (found on Hugs X heart blog) to get into the festive mood 🙂

1. What is your favourite Christmas film?

I have the best memories of watching Home Alone 1 & 2 as a kid. To me it’s the ultimate Christmas film! I also love the old school German fairy tales from the 50s – they always run on German telly between 24th and 31st December.

fairy tales

German fairy tales from the 50s. Source: eBay

2. Have you ever had a White Christmas?

Back in Germany we had a few White Christmases but now in Ireland, nope! I think a White Christmas is overrated. It’s cold so most of the time is spent inside anyway.

3. Where do you usually spend your holiday?

Most years they are spent in Germany because that’s where my family is. In recent years I have started to avoid air travel over the festive period though for two reasons: It’s 3x more expensive and 100x busier than the week before or after! I have to admit it feels a little strange spending actual Christmas Eve and Christmas Day away from your family but in the end it’s just a date. And who says you cannot celebrate the occasion the week before? The main thing is that you’re spending time with loved ones.

4. What is your favourite Christmas song?

I don’t really have one but when I was younger it was family tradition listening to beautiful choir music of classics like “Silent Night” and other German Christmas songs.

5. Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

Christmas Eve all the way! It’s cruel to let kids wait until the next morning plus letting children open presents the night before means a lie in for the parents. I have fond memories of being allowed to stay up late, feeling like a grown up, playing with my new toys until late. It felt special 🙂

6. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

They have names? Oh, right. Here they are:

7. What holiday traditions are you looking forward to most this year? 

Every one has a different idea of Christmas and we don’t have to abide by rules in order to celebrate it. But there’s one tradition I’ve always stuck to: Christmas decorations and lighting a candle for each Sunday Advent.

8. Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

I don’t have one this year 😦 Since moving to Ireland it has become super difficult sourcing Christmas trees, especially in central Dublin. Last year a friend drove us around for hours in search of a Christmas tree and in the end we found one tree dealer selling wonky overpriced ones for €70 a piece!! Even in London you can buy one for £9.99 and that’s our neighbour island so where’s the problem? Apparently there is a Christmas tree shortage in Ireland. I hate fake ones, we always had one when I was younger. Each year we took out the plastic thing and had to bend the different pieces in shape. So, I’d rather have no tree than a plastic one!

9. What is your all-time favorite holiday food/sweet treat?

Spekulatius and Lebkuchen! I love it so much I start buying the stuff when it first hits the Lidl stores here in October 😉

spekulatius_0

Spekulatius, Source

elisen_135mm_1

Nuremberg Elisenlebkuchen – the best! Source

10. Be honest: do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

Giving gifts fills me with horror because it’s so complicated to buy the right gift if you live abroad and don’t see family and friends regularly. But the same goes for receiving. The countless times we just exchanged junk has led to a ruling in our family to stop the gifts and just focus on having a good time. Small ones are allowed though, like homebaked cookies or a bottle of wine 🙂

11. What is the best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

I can’t remember! I guess this proves my theory that it’s not the gifts we think about later in life but the good times we had with wonderful people.

12. What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

It’s cold here in Europe so I’d go for some place warmer. I wouldn’t mind trying a Christmas BBQ in sunny Australia or relaxing on a beach in Thailand!

13. Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

I’m mediocre. I do love beautifully wrapped presents though, sometimes the packaging is even better than what’s inside! I always try to open it carefully so I can keep the paper only for my boyfriend to throw it away afterwards thinking it’s rubbish :-/

14. Most memorable Holiday moment?

All of them were special in their own way.

15. What made you realise the truth about Santa?

I am the youngest out of four children so there wasn’t much hiding the truth. My parents tried but my siblings ruined it by telling me very early on. Thanks guys!

16. Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

Yes and yes. Well, at least I try. My resolutions are mostly achievable I think that’s what’s important otherwise you’ll just set yourself up for failure and who would want to start a year like that? New Years Resolutions are important in my opinion, because they make you think about what you want to achieve short-term. Some things don’t just happen they require effort, strong will and passion!

17. What makes the holidays special for you?

The time off work and bank holidays, forcing you to take a step back and enjoy quality time with your special one, family and friends. Festive cheer and Christmas lights everywhere – it’s like the world is one happy place for a whole month.

18. What do you wish for Christmas this year?

Health and happiness for the people I love.

19. Favourite Christmas smell?

The smell of roasted almonds. It’s delicious and I always have to buy a bag at the Christmas market!

IMG_3063

20. What is the worst/weirdest gift you ever got?

The worst and weirdest gift I ever received was a Secret Santa present at work. I was a team manager at the time and one of my employees thought it was funny to give me a book called “Penis Pokey”. When I unwrapped it I was left speechless and blushing. I never blush and I always have something to say. That’s how ashamed and embarassed I felt!

21.Favourite holiday drink?

Glühwein (mulled wine) and Eierlikör (egg nog) are delicious and I couldn’t imagine Christmas without them!

Glühwein

Glühwein, Source

eierlikoer

Source: eBay

22. Have you ever spent Christmas in another country? If yes, which one(s)?

When I was a teenager my family spent Christmas in Prague. It was beautiful but bitterly cold. Apart from that I’m actually spending a lot of Christmases abroad since leaving Germany over 10 years ago.

23. What place/landmark in your town do you love during Christmas?

I love the Christmas lights in the main shopping areas. Also, this year Dublin got its first Christmas market – it’s about bloody time! 🙂

24. Were you naughty or nice this year? You know that Santa is watching *smirks*

I think I was super naughty! I quit my job to travel through Asia, then bummed around for a few months and did nothing, later I started a job as a games tester. 2015 will be the year where I’ll get back on track, but I have to say: It felt pretty good being so selfish and finding my own way. Everyone should do it at least once in their life.

What would your Christmas Tag look like?

Let me know in the comments or create your own list on your blog. Make sure you link the URL in the comments so I can read it 🙂

Mel x

